The Monday Blues: My top 5 remedies

Today was just one of those days, where an 8 hour workday left me feeling pretty blah. Kind of like this sad dark snow filled picture that just popped up in my files as an ironic reminder of my mood…

As I grumpily stormed into my apartment this evening I realized I was suffering from a bad case of the Monday Blues. Instead of falling into the trenches of self-pity  and bitterness towards my ridiculously obnoxious challenging day, I turned to my never fail top five remedies of the Monday Blues…

Starting with #5

Although this method requires more than one tool, I find it highly effective in a variety of emotional situations.

{Image via Pottery Barn}

5. Soft Blanket + Comfy Couch + Best Friend. I mean seriously, how can you go wrong with these three things? I know they might seem basic, but sometimes simple is good. I find that when I’m in a bad mood, I isolate myself but what reallyme feel better is chatting/venting/laughing/with a really good friend. It’s an elementary mood lifter, but it works 🙂

{Image via Pinterest }

4. Hot Beverage/Soup. For me, I turn to basic green tea or my mom’s chicken noodle soup. Sipping something warm comforts me in a way that lifts my spirits and comforts my body and soul.

{Image via Pinterest}

3. Hilarious TV Sitcom marathon: Friends, The Office, or Modern Family. Because sometimes you just have to laugh it out.

{Image snapped by me}

2. Baking. There are so many things that I love about baking: the warmth of the oven, the smell of sugar that lingers on my clothes hours later, the anticipation of hearing the timer go off, and burning my tongue on the first baked good out of the oven (because I’m just to impatient to wait for anything to cool, I mean I worked hard why should I have to wait?) Ah, baking, it’s my happy place.

{Image via Google}

1. The Ultimate Mood Lifter: Exercise. More specifically spin class. Honestly, I’m not sure whether it’s the loud music, the perfuse sweating, or that jello-leg feeling you get after a great spin class, but with out fail I have left every single spin class feeling stronger, smellier, happier, and more energized. It’s just like Elle Woods says in Legally Blonde, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people don’t just kill their husbands.” You said it Elle! Exercise releases those amazing natural hormones we know as endorphins to lift our Monday Blues spirits!

And yes, I did just quote Elle Woods.

Here’s to a more beautiful day tomorrow:

Hope your Monday Moods are lifted and ready to conquer Tuesday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

